Thirty Nine Varieties of My Alternate Selves

An excerpt from How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe by Charles Yu

One of the perks of the job is that I get to use the mini-wormhole generator in my unit for personal purposes. I modified it slightly to pry open really tiny temporary quantum windows into other universes through which I am able to spy on my alternate selves. I’ve seen thirty-nine of them, these varieties of me, and about thirty-five of them seem like total jerks. I guess I’ve come to terms with that. If 89.7 percent of the other versino of you are assholes, chances are you aren’t exactly Mr.Personality yourself. The worst part is that alot of them are doing well.

Leave a Reply

